Skip to content

Primary next Tuesday, remember to cast a ballot

The Illinois Primary for the November General Election is next Tuesday, June 28.

Hopeful candidates for the June 28 primary ballot had from Monday, March 7, until Monday, March 14, at 5 p.m. to file for candidacy in their intended office. The primary election, which typically takes place in March, was pushed to June this year after the COVID-19 pandemic delayed census results to redraw district maps.

County offices appearing on the primary ballot are county clerk, treasurer, coroner, sheriff, county board, and precinct committeeperson.

Jersey County Clerk, Pam Warford is running for reelection unopposed for the position she has held for the past eight years. If elected, this would be her third term as county clerk.

Mike Ringhausen of Medora is also running unopposed for reelection as the county sheriff. If elected, this would be Ringhausen’s second term.

Long time treasurer Gilbert “Gib” Ashlock announced his retirement after 20 years in office last month. Three candidates will appear on the primary ballot for treasurer: Gregory L. “Greg” Weiner, Katie Steckel-Abbey and Martin “Marty” Ward. All three candidates are Republicans.

County coroner of almost 30 years Larry Joe Alexander passed away unexpectedly last fall. His daughter, Kari Jo Alexander was appointed as his successor in September 2021. Alexander is not running for a full term. The two candidates vying for coroner are both Republicans: Kevin Ayres and Collin Crawford.

There are 19 candidates appearing on the ballot for the county board across all four districts, as well as two write-in candidates.

First District

Jarrod Hayes (R)

David M Crone (R)

Kenneth A. Grizzle (R)

Bob Siemer (D)

Marci Collins (D)

Second District

Eric Ivers (R)

Ben Heitzig (R)

Third District

John T. Hill (D)

Mark Wagner (R)

Kara Ontis (R)

Judah Davenport (D)

Mary Drainer (D)

Thomas Groppel (Write-In)

• Jeremy Beasley (Write-In)

Fourth District

David G. Rich (R)

Sheila L Beers (R)

Donald R. Little (D)

Edward E Koenig (R)

Steve (Santa) Pegram (R)

Alan Milton (D)

Gary Krueger (R)

Precincts in the county were consolidated by the county board in December of 2021 following a change in state law. Jersey now has eight precincts instead of 10, and Quarry’s two precincts were combined into one. There are 16 candidates running for precinct committee seats across the county.

Gene Heafner (D) – Elsah 2

Kevin Ayres (R) – English

Donna Moore (D) – Fidelity

Wayne Schell (D) – Jersey 6

Katherine V. Stine (D) – Mississippi 1

August A. Schetter (R) – Piasa 1

Donald R. Little (D) – Piasa 2

Kevin Roundcount (R) – Quarry

Carol J Moore (R) – Ruyle

Jersey 2

Linda J. Crotchett (R)

John H. Houseman (R)

Gene Abbot (D)

Jersey 4

Jarrod Hayes (R)

Donald Perdun (D)

Jersey 5

David M Crone (R)

Mark Pohlman (D)

More information about the June 28 election can be found at the Jersey County Clerk’s office, which can be reached at 618-498-5571.

The General Election date was unaffected by the aforementioned delays and will take place the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. This year, it falls on Nov. 8.

Leave a Comment